Fed insurance policy group pared to seven members in 2022

Seven members, six of them new, will begin three-year terms on the Federal Reserve’s Insurance Policy Advisory Committee (IPAC) beginning in 2022, the Fed said in a recent announcement.

That committee of seven is sharply reduced from the current panel, for which the Fed lists 21 members – the maximum number permitted under the committee’s enabling statute, the 2118 Economic Growth, Regulatory Relief, and Consumer Protection Act (EGRRCPA). The IPAC was established to provide the Fed Board information, advice, and recommendations on international insurance capital standards and other insurance issues.

The 2022 members are:

  • Nick Gerhart, Homesteaders, Executive Vice President, Chief Innovation Officer
  • John Golden, Athene Holding Ltd., Executive Vice President & General Counsel
  • Peter Kochenburger, University of Connecticut School of Law, Executive Director of Insurance Law LLM Program, Deputy Director of the Insurance Law Center, NAIC Funded Consumer Liaison Representative
  • Katanya Moore, MetLife, Vice President, Head of Regulatory Policy
  • William Torchiana, Sullivan & Cromwell LLP, Partner, Financial Institutions Group
  • Andrew Vedder, Northwestern Mutual, Vice President – Enterprise Risk Management
  • Pooja Rahman (reappointed), Protective Life, Chief Risk Officer

The Fed’s website shows that the committee met once in 2019 and twice last year.

Federal Reserve Board announces members of its Insurance Policy Advisory Committee