Trio named to community bank panel, which meets July 28 to discuss ‘less burdensome’ financial reporting system

Bankers from Alaska, Iowa, and South Dakota have been tapped as the newest members of the community banking advisory committee for the federal insurer of bank deposits, the agency said Wednesday.

The Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) said named to the agency’s Advisory Committee on Community Banking were: Patty Mongold, chairperson, president and CEO of Mt. McKinley Bank, Fairbanks, Alaska; Teri Messerschmitt, president and CEO, South Ottumwa Savings Bank, Ottumwa, Iowa; and Stephen Hayes, chairman and president, Dakota Prairie Bank, Ft. Pierre, S.D.

The trio joins 15 other individuals in the advisory group, which will next meet July 28. The FDIC said the committee will discuss at that meeting: local banking conditions; a briefing on the FDIC’s “Rapid Prototyping Competition” (an initiative of the agency announced in June to develop a “seamless, less burdensome” financial reporting system for banks); an update on supervision matters; a report from the FDIC’s Minority Depository Institutions Subcommittee; and a discussion of diversity and inclusion at community banks.

FDIC Names New Members to Advisory Committee on Community Banking