Fed Board appoints 2020 Reserve Bank chairs, deputy chairs; 13 renamed from last year

The 2020 chairs and deputy chairs of the 12 Federal Reserve Banks – 24 leaders from financial services, industry, academia, entertainment, and other fields – include 13 individuals who were renamed to continue in the posts they held in 2019, according to a release Friday announcing the designations made by the Federal Reserve Board.

The Fed Board, headquartered in Washington, appoints three of each Reserve Bank’s nine directors and each year designates one of its appointees as chair and a second as deputy chair.

The chairs and deputy chairs for the Federal Reserve Banks during 2020 are:


  • Phillip L. Clay, professor emeritus of city planning, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Mass., renamed chair.
  • Christina Hull Paxson, president, Brown University, Providence, R.I., renamed deputy chair.

New York

  • Denise Scott, executive vice president, Local Initiatives Support Corporation, New York, N.Y., renamed chair.
  • Rosa M. Gil, founder, president, and chief executive officer, Comunilife, Inc., New York, N.Y., renamed deputy chair.


  • Phoebe Haddon, chancellor, Rutgers University – Camden, Camden, N.J., named chair.
  • Madeline Bell, president and chief executive officer, The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, Philadelphia, Pa., named deputy chair.


  • Dawne S. Hickton, president and chief operating officer, Jacobs Aerospace, Technology, and Nuclear, Pittsburgh, Pa., renamed chair.
  • Dwight E. Smith, president and chief executive officer, Sophisticated Systems, Inc., Columbus, Ohio, renamed deputy chair.


  • Kathy J. Warden, chairman, president, and chief executive officer, Northrop Grumman Corporation, Falls Church, Va., renamed chair.
  • Eugene A. Woods, president and chief executive officer, Atrium Health, Charlotte, N.C., named deputy chair.


  • Myron A. Gray, president, U.S. operations (retired), United Parcel Service, Inc., Atlanta, Ga., renamed chair.
  • Elizabeth A. Smith, executive chair, Bloomin’ Brands, Inc., Tampa, Fla., renamed deputy chair.


  • Scott Santi, chairman and chief executive officer, Illinois Tool Works Inc., Glenview, Ill., named chair.
  • Wright L. Lassiter, III, president and chief executive officer, Henry Ford Health System, Detroit, Mich., named deputy chair.

St. Louis

  • Suzanne Sitherwood, president and chief executive officer, Spire Inc., St. Louis, Mo., named chair.
  • James M. McKelvey, Jr., founder and chief executive officer, Invisibly, Inc., St. Louis, Mo., named deputy chair.


  • Srilata Zaheer, dean, Carlson School of Management, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minn., named chair.
  • Harry D. Melander, president, Minnesota Building and Construction Trades Council, St. Paul, Minn., renamed deputy chair.

Kansas City

  • Jim Farrell, president, Farrell Growth Group LLC, Omaha, Neb., named chair.
  • Edmond Johnson, president and owner, Premier Manufacturing, Inc., Frederick, Colo., named deputy chair.


  • Greg L. Armstrong, chairman and chief executive officer (retired), Plains All American Pipeline L.P., Houston, Texas, renamed chair.
  • Thomas J. Falk, chairman and chief executive officer (retired), Kimberly-Clark Corporation, Dallas, Texas, named deputy chair.

San Francisco

  • Barry M. Meyer, chairman and chief executive officer (retired), Warner Bros. Entertainment, Inc., and chairman and founder, North Ten Mile Associates, Los Angeles, Calif., renamed chair.
  • Rosemary Turner, president north California district (retired), United Parcel Service, Inc., Oakland, Calif., renamed deputy chair.

Federal Reserve Board announces appointment of the chairs and deputy chairs of the Federal Reserve Banks for 2020