CRA evaluations set for banks, savings associations in first half of ‘18

Nearly 190 banks and federal savings associations across 39 states are timetabled for Community Reinvestment Act (CRA) evaluations in the first and second quarters of the new year, according to a schedule released Tuesday by the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC).

Texas, with 29 financial institutions set for the evaluations, will see the most in the first six months of 2018. The top four states beyond that whose institutions will see CRA reviews are Illinois (20); Minnesota (16); Oklahoma (11) and Georgia and Kansas (both eight). A total of 188 banks are scheduled for evaluations.

In a statement, the OCC said it encourages public comment on the national banks and federal savings associations scheduled to be evaluated under the CRA. The OCC said it “suggests that comments be submitted to the institutions themselves at the mailing addresses listed on the schedule, or to the appropriate OCC supervisory office prior to—or as early as possible during—the month in which the evaluation is scheduled.”

The OCC will consider all public comments received prior to the close of the CRA evaluation, the agency said.

OCC CRA evaluation, January-June 2018