Comptrollers, current and past (including clutch of Trump appointees), gather to mark 160 years of national bank regulation

A group of former top regulators of national banks, along with the current administrator, gathered Thursday in Washington to mark the 160th anniversary of the founding of the agency – including the quartet of helmsmen appointed during the Trump administration.

The Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC) said seven former agency leaders joined Acting Comptroller Michael Hsu “to reflect on their tenures leading the agency and discuss the value of the OCC’s supervision of national banks and federal savings associations.”

The agency was created Feb. 25, 1863 as a bureau of the U.S. Department of the Treasury by the National Currency Act.

Among those joining Hsu were: Robert L. Clarke (Comptroller from 1985-1992), Eugene A. Ludwig (1993-1998), Julie L. Williams (1998 and from 2004-2005), Keith A. Noreika (2017), Joseph M. Otting (2017-2020), Brian Brooks (2020-2021), and Blake Paulson (2021). Williams, Noreika, Brooks, and Paulson all held the top job in an “acting” capacity.

Unable to attend, the OCC said, were Thomas J. Curry (2012-2017), John G. Walsh (2010-2012), John C. Dugan (200-2010) and John G. Heimann (1977-1981).

Pictured from left to right are: Robert L. Clarke, Joseph M. Otting, Julie L. Williams, Keith A. Noreika, Acting Comptroller Michael J. Hsu, Brian Brooks, Eugene A. Ludwig, and Blake Paulson.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.