FDIC names next deputy directors for capital markets and accounting policy, operational risk

Two individuals were selected to take over as deputy directors within the agency’s risk management supervision division – one dealing with capital markets and accounting policy, the other over operational risk – due to the pending retirements of both incumbents, the federal insurer of bank deposits announced Thursday.

The Federal Deposit Insurance Corp. (FDIC) said Ryan Billingsley is the FDIC’s new Deputy Director of Capital Markets and Accounting Policy, while Lisa D. Arquette will serve as Deputy Director of Operational Risk.

Billingsley succeeds Bobby R. Bean, who is set to retire Jan. 31 after more than 30 years with the agency, the FDIC said. It noted that Billingsley began his career as a credit and risk analyst with public and private institutions including Fannie Mae. He joined the FDIC in 2009 and has served in a number of leadership roles, including in the negotiation and development of the Basel III regulatory capital reforms, and he represents the FDIC on the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision Policy and Standards Group, according to the agency. He most recently served as Corporate Expert, Capital Markets, it said.

Arquette will succeed Martin D. Henning, deputy director of operational risk, who will retire effective Sept. 30 after 32 years of service with the agency, the FDIC said. Arquette’s appointment to succeed Henning will take effect upon the date of appointment of her replacement as Associate Director, Anti-Money Laundering (AML) and Cyber Fraud Branch, a position she has held since 2005.

The agency said Arquette has been with the FDIC 33 years and has served in many leadership roles, including as the first chairperson of the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council AML/Countering the Financing of Terrorism (CFT) Subcommittee. She represents the FDIC on the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision AML/CFT Expert Group and the Department of the Treasury Bank Secrecy Act Advisory Group, it said, and previously represented the FDIC on the Department of Justice Bank Fraud Working Group and the Department of State Terrorist Finance Working Group.

More background about Billingsley, Arquette, Bean, and Henning are provided in the agency release.

FDIC Announces Senior Leadership Changes in Division of Risk Management Supervision