Bureau updates rosters of advisory councils

Updated rosters of members for four advisory councils of the federal consumer financial protection agency were published Wednesday, the result of an application process that began at year’s start.

The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) named 35 members to seats on the four panels, the Consumer Advisory Board (CAB, the largest with 14 members), the Community Bank Advisory Council (CBAC, eight members), the Credit Union Advisory Council (CUAC, eight members), and the Academic Research Council (ARC, five members).

The groups are advisory, providing advice and input to the bureau on issues related to their interest areas; they meet at least twice a year. Members serve two-year terms.

The members of the councils are:

Consumer Advisory Board (CAB)

  • Leigh Phillips (Chair), President and CEO, SaverLife (San Francisco, CA)
  • Joaquin Altoro, Chief Executive Officer, Wisconsin Housing & Economic Development Authority (Madison, WI)
  • Lorray Brown, Attorney/Consumer Law Attorney/Co-Director, Michigan Poverty Law Program (Ypsilanti, MI)
  • Louis Caditz-Peck, Director, Public Policy, LendingClub (San Francisco, CA)
  • Stephanie Carroll, Directing Attorney, Consumer Rights & Economic Justice, Public Counsel (Los Angeles, CA)
  • David Ehrich, Executive Director, AIR – Alliance for Innovative Regulation (Washington, DC)
  • Laurie Goodman, Director, Housing Finance Policy Center, Urban Institute (Washington, DC)
  • Margaret Libby, Founder and CEO, MyPath (San Francisco, CA)
  • Andres Navarrete, Executive Vice President, External Affairs, Capital One (McLean, VA)
  • Beverly Ruggia, Financial Justice Program Director, New Jersey Citizen Action (Newark, NJ)
  • Faith Schwartz, President, Housing Finance Strategies, LLC (Austin, TX)
  • Ky Tran-Trong, Vice President and Associate General Counsel, Visa (Washington, DC)
  • Pete Upton, Executive Director, Native360 Loan Fund, Inc. (Grand Island, NE)
  • Mae Watson Grote, Founder and CEO, Change Machine (Brooklyn, NY)

Community Bank Advisory Council (CBAC)

  • John Buhrmaster (Chair), President and CEO, First National Bank of Scotia (Scotia, NY)
  • Barry Anderson, President – Chief Operations Officer, F&M Bank (Edmond, OK)
  • Mary Buche, Senior Vice President/Consumer Lending Relationship Manager, Bank of Labor (Olathe, KS)
  • Ronette Hauser-Jones, Mortgage Division President, Great Plains Bank (Oklahoma City, OK)
  • Todd McDonald, Senior Vice President/Board Director, Liberty Bank & Trust Company (New Orleans, LA)
  • Rebecca Melton, Senior Vice President/Chief Credit Officer, The National Bank of Blacksburg (Blacksburg, VA)
  • Kristina Schaefer, General Counsel & Chief Risk Officer, Fishback Financial Corporation/First Bank & Trust (Brookings, SD)
  • Michael Tucker, Chief Executive Officer, Greenfield Cooperative Bank (Greenfield, MA)

Credit Union Advisory Council (CUAC)

  • Jose Iregui (Chair), Vice-President of Consumer Lending, Langley Federal Credit Union (Newport News, VA)
  • Michael Daugherty, President, Community Plus Federal Credit Union (Rantoul, IL)
  • Monica Davis, Senior Vice President Risk Management, Union Square Credit Union (Wichita Falls, TX)
  • Michelle Dwyer, President/CEO, Franklin First Federal Credit Union (Greenfield, MA)
  • Jeff Ivey, President/CEO, River City Federal Credit Union (San Antonio, TX)
  • Jeremiah Kossen, President/CEO, Town and Country Credit Union (Minot, SD)
  • Michael Levy, General Counsel, Travis Credit Union (Vacaville, CA)
  • Deborah Wreden, EVP, Product & Delivery Strategy, Virginia Credit Union (Richmond, VA)

Academic Research Council (ARC)

  • Vicki Bogan (Chair), Associate Professor, Cornell University (Ithaca, NY)
  • Mathieu Despard, Associate Professor, University of North Carolina at Greensboro (Greensboro, NC)
  • Eric Johnson, Norman Eig Professor of Business, Columbia University (New York, NY)
  • Michael Staten, Professor and Associate Dean, University of Arizona (Tucson, AZ)
  • Anthony Yezer, Professor of Economics, George Washington University (Washington, DC)

Consumer Financial Protection Bureau Announces New Advisory Committee Members