173 banks on 2Q-3Q list for CRA evaluations by OCC

A total of 173 national banks and federal savings associations (FSAs) throughout the U.S. are scheduled to be evaluated for Community Reinvestment Act (CRA) compliance by the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC) from April through September, according to the list released Wednesday.

The CRA, enacted in 1977, prohibits redlining and encourages efforts to meet the credit needs of all community members, including residents of low- and moderate-income neighborhoods.

The OCC’s list for second-quarter and third-quarter CRA exams covers banks in 42 states. The states with the largest number of banks on this CRA exam schedule include Texas, with 22; Illinois, with 17; Ohio, with 14; and Oklahoma and New York, with nine each.

The OCC said it encourages public comment on the banks to be evaluated and suggested that comments be submitted to the institutions themselves at the mailing addresses listed on the schedule or to the appropriate OCC supervisory office prior to (or as early as possible during) the months in which the evaluations are scheduled. “The OCC will consider all public comments received prior to the close of the CRA evaluation,” it said.

OCC Issues Second and Third Quarter 2019 CRA Evaluation Schedule

CRA evaluation schedule (2Q, 3Q 2019)