Fed names leadership at Reserve Banks, including 11 who will continue in roles

Twenty-four leaders from banking, industry, academia, entertainment and other disciplines were named as chairs or deputy chairs of the 12 Federal Reserve Banks Wednesday, with 11 of the leaders renamed to continuing roles in leading their regional banks.

In a release, the Federal Reserve said the designations for the leadership of the 12 regional banks are for the balance of 2019. The Fed noted that each Reserve Bank has a nine-member board of directors. The Fed’s Washington-based board of governors appoints three of these directors and each year designates one of its appointees as chair and a second as deputy chair.

The list of chairs and deputy chairs (by each Reserve Bank) includes:


  • Phillip L. Clay, professor, Department of Urban Studies and Planning, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts, named Chair.
  • Christina Hull Paxson, president, Brown University, Providence, Rhode Island, named Deputy Chair.

New York

  • Denise Scott, executive vice president, Local Initiatives Support Corporation, New York, New York, named Chair.
  • Rosa M. Gil, president and chief executive officer, Comunilife, Inc., New York, New York, named Deputy Chair.


  • Brian M. McNeill, president and chief executive officer, TouchPoint, Inc., Concordville, Pennsylvania, renamed Chair.
  • Phoebe Haddon, chancellor, Rutgers University-Camden, Camden, New Jersey, renamed Deputy Chair.


  • Dawne S. Hickton, president and founding partner, Cumberland Highstreet Partners, Sewickley, Pennsylvania, renamed Chair.
  • Dwight E. Smith, president and chief executive officer, Sophisticated Systems, Inc., Columbus, Ohio, renamed Deputy Chair.


  • Kathy J. Warden, chief executive officer and president, Northrop Grumman Corporation, Falls Church, Virginia, named Chair.
  • Margaret G. Lewis, president (retired), HCA Capital Division, Richmond, Virginia, named Deputy Chair.


  • Myron A. Gray, president (retired), U.S. Operations, United Parcel Service, Inc., Atlanta, Georgia, named Chair.
  • Elizabeth A. Smith, chairman and chief executive officer, Bloomin’ Brands, Inc., Tampa, Florida, named Deputy Chair.


  • Anne R. Pramaggiore, senior executive vice president, Exelon Corp., and chief executive officer, Exelon Utilities, Chicago, Illinois, renamed Chair.
  • Scott Santi, chairman and chief executive officer, Illinois Tool Works Inc., Glenview, Illinois, renamed Deputy Chair.

St. Louis

  • Kathleen M. Mazzarella, chairman, president, and chief executive officer, Graybar Electric Company, Inc., St. Louis, Missouri, renamed Chair.
  • Suzanne Sitherwood, president and chief executive officer, Spire Inc., St. Louis, Missouri, renamed Deputy Chair.


  • Kendall J. Powell, chairman and chief executive officer (retired), General Mills, Inc., Minneapolis, Minnesota, renamed Chair.
  • Harry D. Melander, president, Minnesota Building and Construction Trades Council, St. Paul, Minnesota, renamed Deputy Chair.

Kansas City

  • Rose M. Washington, executive director, Tulsa Economic Development Corporation, Tulsa, Oklahoma, renamed Chair.
  • James C. Farrell, president and chief executive officer, Farmers National Company, Omaha, Nebraska, named Deputy Chair.


  • Greg L. Armstrong, chairman, Plains All American Pipeline L.P., Houston, Texas, named Chair.
  • Mary E. Kipp, president and chief executive officer, El Paso Electric Company, El Paso, Texas, named Deputy Chair.

San Francisco

  • Barry M. Meyer, chairman and chief executive officer (retired), Warner Bros. Entertainment, Inc., and chairman and founder, North Ten Mile Associates, Los Angeles, California, named Chair.
  • Rosemary Turner, president (retired), Northern California District, United Parcel Service, Inc., Oakland, California, named Deputy Chair.

Federal Reserve Board announces appointment of the chairs and deputy chairs of the Federal Reserve Banks for 2019