Six new members to join Fed Community Advisory Council in January

Six individuals from academia, business, labor, housing, and community development organizations were named to the Federal Reserve Board’s Community Advisory Council (CAC) for three-year terms that begin in 2019, the Fed announced Thursday.

The CAC includes experts and representatives of consumer, workforce, and community development organizations and interests, the Fed noted, including from such fields as affordable housing, economic development, labor, small business, and asset and wealth building. Its aim is to provide information, advice, and recommendations to the Fed Board on relevant policy matters and emerging issues of interest.

The new members will replace CAC members whose terms expire at the end of the year: Roberto Barragan, former chair; Angela Glover Blackwell; Patrick Dujakovich; Ben Mangan; Rodrick Miller; and Sue Taoka. The new members are:

  • Rev. Dr. Adrian M. Brooks, CEO, Memorial Community Development Corporation, Evansville, Ind.
  • Joshua Downey, President, Denver Area Labor Federation, AFL-CIO, Denver, Colo.
  • Andreanecia Morris, Executive Director, HousingNOLA, New Orleans, La.
  • Marc Norman, Associate Professor of Practice, University of Michigan Taubman, College of Architecture and Urban Planning, Ann Arbor, Mich.
  • Bill Schlesinger, Co-Director, Project Vida, El Paso, Texas
  • Jesse Van Tol, CEO, National Community Reinvestment Coalition, Washington, D.C.

These six will join the nine existing members and be led by incoming Chair Andrea Levere and incoming Vice Chair Donald Hinkle-Brown. The council is scheduled to meet May 24 and Nov. 1, 2019.

Federal Reserve Board announces new members of Community Advisory Council