Consumer bureau, financial research directors’ nominations set for committee vote (after 3-week pause)

Rescheduled votes on nominations for Kathleen (“Kathy”) Kraninger to be director of the Bureau of Consumer Financial Protection (BCFP, formerly known as the CFPB), and five others, are set for Thursday by the Senate Banking Committee.

The votes had originally been set for Aug. 2 but were postponed by the committee after the Senate concluded its business for the week the previous day (Aug. 1) and recessed.

The committee on Thursday is also scheduled to consider the nomination of Dino Falaschetti to be director of Treasury’s Office of Financial Research.

The committee held hearings on the nominations for the pair earlier this month.

Kraninger, if confirmed by the full Senate, would succeed BCFP Acting Director John “Mick” Mulvaney. He has been serving in that role since November 2017, when he was appointed by President Donald Trump to succeed Richard Cordray, who resigned.

Falaschetti, if confirmed by the Senate, would succeed Richard B. Berner, who also resigned.

Other nominations postponed and, now, rescheduled for voting Thursday are: Kimberly A. Reed, to be President of the Export-Import Bank of the United States; Elad L. Roisman, to be a Member of the Securities and Exchange Commission; Michael R. Bright, to be President, Government National Mortgage Association; and Rae Oliver, to be Inspector General, Department of Housing and Urban Development.