Fed appoints four new chairs/deputies for Reserve Banks; retaps leaders in eight more

New leadership for four Federal Reserve banks was announced by the Fed Board for 2018 Wednesday, with leaders in eight other banks reappointed, the central bank said.

The Fed Board each year designates the chair and deputy chair from among the three directors the central bank appoints, the Fed said in a release. Banks in Philadelphia, Cleveland, Atlanta, and Minneapolis each received new leadership. The chairs and deputies in the other eight banks will reprise their roles for 2018.

According to the Fed, the chairs and deputies are:


Chairman (renamed): Gary L. Gottlieb, M.D., chief executive officer, Partners In Health, Boston, Mass.

Deputy chair (renamed): Phillip L. Clay, professor – Department of Urban Studies and Planning, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Mass.

New York

Chairman (renamed): Sara Horowitz, founder and executive director, Freelancers Union, Brooklyn, N.Y.

Deputy chair (renamed): Denise Scott, executive vice president, Local Initiatives Support Corporation, New York, N.Y.


Chairman: Brian McNeill, president and chief executive officer, TouchPoint, Inc., Concordville, Pa.

Deputy chair: Phoebe Haddon, chancellor, Rutgers University-Camden, Camden, N.J.


Chairman: Dawne S. Hickton, president and founding partner, Cumberland Highstreet Partners, Sewickley, Pa.

Deputy chair: Dwight E. Smith, president and chief executive officer, Sophisticated Systems, Inc., Columbus, Ohio.


Chairman (renamed): Margaret G. Lewis, president (retired), HCA Capital Division, Richmond, Va.

Deputy chair (renamed): Kathy J. Warden, president and chief operating officer, Northrop Grumman Corporation, Falls Church, Va.


Chairman: Michael J. Jackson, chairman, chief executive officer, and president, AutoNation, Inc., Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.

Deputy chair: Myron A. Gray, president, U.S. Operations, United Parcel Service, Atlanta, Ga.


Chairman (renamed): Anne R. Pramaggiore, president and chief executive officer, ComEd, Chicago, Ill.

Deputy chair (renamed): E. Scott Santi, chairman and chief executive officer, Illinois Tool Works Inc., Glenview, Ill.

St. Louis

Chairman (renamed): Kathleen M. Mazzarella, chairman, president and chief executive officer, Graybar Electric Company, Inc., St. Louis, Mo.

Deputy chair (renamed): Suzanne Sitherwood, president and chief executive officer, Spire Inc., St. Louis, Mo.


Chairman: Kendall J. Powell, chairman (retired), General Mills, Inc., Minneapolis, Minn.

Deputy chair: Harry D. Melander, president, Minnesota Building and Construction Trades Council, St. Paul, Minn.

Kansas City

Chairman (renamed): Rose M. Washington, executive director, Tulsa Economic Development Corporation, Tulsa, Okla.

Deputy chair (renamed): Steve Maestas, chief executive officer, Maestas Development Group, Albuquerque, N.M.


Chairman (renamed): Matthew K. Rose, executive chairman, BNSF Railway Company, Fort Worth, Texas.

Deputy chair: Greg L. Armstrong, chairman and chief executive officer, Plains All American Pipeline L.P., Houston, Texas.

San Francisco

Chairman (renamed): Alexander R. Mehran, chairman and chief executive officer, Sunset Development Company, San Ramon, Calif.

Deputy chair (renamed): Barry M. Meyer, chairman and chief executive officer (retired), Warner Bros. Entertainment and chairman and founder, North Ten Mile Associates, Los Angeles, Calif.

Federal Reserve Board announces appointment of the chairs and deputy chairs of the Federal Reserve Banks for 2018